Shin Khang

Shin Khang

Shin Khang

What is your major?

Integrative Studies, concentration in International Studies 

How did you decide on minoring in Women and Gender Studies?

I decided to minor in Women and Gender Studies my first semester at George Mason after talking to Nancy Xiong who is the associate director of the WGST center.  I wanted to learn more about the historical and current struggles of women and different gender identities that doesn't fit society's norms, the challenges women face across culture and what I can do to make a difference. 

What have you learned that has really surprised you/changed your perspective?

I have learned that people are taught to be male or female.  When we are born, we are raised to fit society's standards based on the body parts that we were born with.  I used to believe that because I am a woman, I shouldn't express anger and I shouldn't talk back because I would appear as being disobedient.  I was taught those things by my mother and my Asian culture, believing that I didn't have a voice because if I speak up against things I didn't agree on, I'd be a bad daughter.  After taking a few women and gender studies classes, they have opened my eyes that I am living by society's standards of what is expected of me as a woman.  I've learned that I can live the way that makes me comfortable and happy.

Tell us about your dream job. How has courses in Women and Gender Studies helped further your plans?

My dream job would be to work with women, children, people who have experienced abuse.  I want to inspire and help survivors move past their pain and use it as strength to achieve a happy and safe life.  Courses in Women and Gender Studies has helped further my plans by educating me the hardships that women face, especially women of color, and how that can play a role in domestic/intimate partner violence. 

Please share any internships, jobs, or volunteer experiences that you have taken part in?

I have volunteered for events such as Fear2Freedom, The Clothesline Project and Take Back the Night with Women and Gender Studies.  It's amazing to see the love that goes into these events here at Mason.  I have also studied abroad in the Philippines for a human trafficking program which has inspired me to someday work abroad with young women and children who are victims of abuse and human trafficking.

Please share any accomplishments or opportunities that you are proud of.

A soon to be big accomplishment would be graduating from college in May 2018.  I am a first generation student and will be the first in my family with a bachelor's degree.  I am proud to have the opportunity to work in the Women and Gender Studies Center among caring staff members who are always working hard to make George Mason a great place for students.

Tell us something people would be surprised to know about you.

I come from a big family.  I have 5 sisters and 3 brothers and I am the oldest in my family.